Saturday, May 2, 2009

Indonesia - 1975 to 1977 Series Banknotes

After a complete Sudirman series of Indonesia banknote issued in 1968, the subsequent issuance are not in full denomination. The series of Indonesia banknote issued from 1975 to 1977 has a total of five denominations. Among these, the higher denominations namely 1000, 5000 and 10000 Rupiah were issued in 1975 to replace the Sudirman series which believe to have a lot of counterfeit notes.

As mentioned earlier in 1971 Series (Diponegoro), only the 1000 Rupiah has been reissued in 1975 with the same design adopted for its 1971 series. Other notes of 1975 series i.e. 5000 and 10000 Rupiah have adopted a brand new design. There is not specific theme or portrait used for the remaining issuance of Indonesia banknotes. For instant, the front of 5000 note features a fisherman whereas the 10000 note displays the Ramayana frieze at Borobodur.

The lower denominations were issued in 1977 series in 100 and 500 Rupiah. They were printed by Perum Peruri. The obverse of 100 Rupiah illustrates a Javan Rhinoceros and the front of 500 Rupiah note depicts a women with Vanda orchid.

1975 Series - 1000 Rupiah

1975 Series - 5000 Rupiah

1975 Series - 10000 Rupiah

1977 Series - 100 Rupiah

1977 Series - 500 Rupiah

No comments: