Friday, May 1, 2009

Indonesia - 1971 Series (Diponegoro)

This 1971 series of Indonesia banknote was meant to replace the sudirman series but was unissued due to unknown reason. This series of banknote consists of five denominations namely 100, 500, 1000, 5000 and 10000 Rupiah. The fronts of these note feature the portrait of Diponegoro, a Jawanese prince who opposed Dutch colonial rule during the Java war from 1825 to 1830.

Due to unsuccessful issuance of this series of note, there are only specimen notes available in the market and they are very rare with high value. However, only the 1000 Rupiah note of this Diponegoro series was finally printed and reissued in 1975. Even though the 1971 and 1975 issuance of 1000 Rupiah might look alike physically, there are many differences between these two notes. The later issuance (1975 series) note is slightly bigger in size than the earlier and year of issuance was printed in the middle of the note. Also, this later issuance note has a watermark of Gajah Mada in lieu of Diponegoro.

100 Rupiah

500 Rupiah

1000 Rupiah

5000 Rupiah

10000 Rupiah

No comments: