Thursday, September 25, 2008

Brunei - 1st Series Banknote

The first Series of Brunei Banknote was issued in 1967 in the denomination of $1, $5, $10, $50 and $100. $500 and $1000 denomination note were later introduced in 1979. It is learnt that this series of note design looks similar to the First Series of Malaysia banknote. Both were using the old Malay spelling and having the similar arrangement or position of serial numbers. It is also noted the this series of printed with two different languages i.e. Malay and English. These notes were signed by the Sultan instead of bank governor.

This series of note adopted the portrait of Sultan Sir Omar Ali Saifuddin, the 28th ruler of Brunei on the obverse of the note. The reverse of the note illustrated the Sultan Omar Ali Saifuddin (SOAS) Mosque which was built in 1958 located in the city of Bandar Seri Begawan. Designed by an Italian Architect, the golden-domed structure is the tallest building in the city. A stone replica of a 16th-century barge rests in the Brunei River in front of the mosque.






No comments: